The Vietnam War

The epic story of the Vietnam War as it has never-before been told on film.


  • A Disrespectful Loyalty (May 1970-March 1973)

    South Vietnam fights alone as Nixon and Kissinger find a way out for America. POWs return.
  • The History of the World (April 1969-May 1970)

    Nixon withdraws troops but upon sending forces to Cambodia the antiwar movement reignites.
  • The Veneer of Civilization (June 1968-May 1969)

    After chaos roils the Democratic Convention, Nixon, promising peace, wins the presidency.
  • Things Fall Apart (January 1968-July 1968)

    Shaken by the Tet Offensive, assassinations and unrest, America seems to be coming apart.
  • This Is What We Do (July 1967-December 1967)

    President Johnson escalates the war while promising the public that victory is in sight.
  • Resolve (January 1966-June 1967)

    US soldiers discover Vietnam is unlike their fathers’ war, as the antiwar movement grows.
  • The River Styx (January 1964-December 1965)

    With South Vietnam near collapse, LBJ bombs the North and sends US troops to the South.
  • Riding the Tiger (1961-1963)

    As a communist insurgency gains strength, JFK wrestles with US involvement in Vietnam.


About The Vietnam War

The Vietnam War is a ten-part, 18-hour documentary film series directed by Ken Burns and Lynn Novick. In an immersive 360-degree narrative, Burns and Novick tell the epic story of the Vietnam War as it has never before been told on film. The Vietnam War features testimony from nearly 100 witnesses.