The Civil War

A nine-part series that explores the most important conflict in our nation's history.


  • 1864: "Valley of the Shadow of Death"/"Most Hallowed Ground"

    While causalities mount, Lincoln’s re-election chances dim.
  • 1863: "Simply Murder"/"The Universe of Battle"

    Follow the Battle of Gettysburg, draft riots, and the first African-American troops.
  • 1862: "A Very Bloody Affair"/"Forever Free"

    Lincoln’s war to preserve the Union transforms to a war to emancipate the slaves.
  • 1861: "The Cause"

    Find out what caused the war, examining slavery and questions of union and states’ rights.


  • Restoring The Civil War

    Learn how The Civil War series has been completely restored to Ultra HD – 4K resolution.

About The Civil War

Between 1861 and 1865, Americans made war on each other and killed each other in great numbers if only to become the kind of country that could no longer conceive of how that was possible. What began as a bitter dispute over Union and States' Rights, ended as a struggle over the meaning of freedom in America.