TransformSC: Bus Tour - Reserve your seat!

TransformSC Bus Tour logo

Bus Stop Highlight:
Batesburg-Leesville Primary School

Principal: Mrs. Dawn Harden


Personalized learning is the overarching philosophy that drives the vision for BL Primary School.  Classroom environments are designed to allow students to take ownership of their learning through goal-setting, self-direction, and competency-based instruction.  Students use data notebooks to track their own progress through regular conferencing and formative feedback from teachers.  

Montessori, coding for littles, and early interventions are all part of BL Primary School's transformative practices.  A visit to BL Primary will highlight our Montessori classrooms where students engage in multi-age learning environments, computer coding practices that support language and literacy development, and the BOOST program where students and families of two-and-three-year olds are provided weekly education outreach to promote successful transition into the school environment.

Join us to learn more about BLPS and their innovative practices on Thursday, September 26.




TransformSC is an initiative of the South Carolina Council on Competitiveness. It is a statewide network of innovative public schools that work in collaboration with business leaders, educators, students, parents, and policymakers in order to transform South Carolina’s public education system.  Currently, there are 71 schools and seven entire districts in the TransformSC network; all working to prepare graduates for careers, college, and citizenship. 

The initiative was launched in 2013 and is led by Director Peggy Torrey.  Executive Committee members are Mike Brenan (president of BB&T South Carolina), Pamela Lackey (recently retired president of AT&T South Carolina), and Tim Arnold (president and CEO of Colonial Life).

Copyright © 2019 SC Council on Competitiveness, All rights reserved. 

Our mailing address is: 
SC Council on Competitiveness
1411 Gervais Street
Suite 450
Columbia, SC 29201