Hurricane Irma Closings

Hurricane Irma.

Gov. Henry McMaster said Thursday that schools and government offices could be closed on Monday and Tuesday in some or all of the state's 46 counties. A decision on that is forthcoming. The following are current closings and other announcements related to Hurricane Irma:

County closings:

  • Berkeley County.
  • Beaufort County.
  • Charleston County.
  • Colleton County.
  • Dorchester County.
  • Jasper County.

Offices will remain closed until further notice. All County public meetings and other scheduled activities for September 11-15 are suspended until further notice.

Colleges and universities:

  • The College of Charleston classes canceled beginning Friday, Sept. 8.
  • Claflin University will close at 5 p.m. on Thursday, Sept. 7.
  • South Carolina State University will close at 5 p.m. on Thursday, Sept. 7. Residence halls will close at noon on Friday, Sept. 8.
  • Cadets at The Citadel will be released by noon on Friday, Sept. 8. The Citadel's football game against Presbyterian College has been moved to Clinton, S.C. and Bailey Memorial Stadium. Kickoff will be on Saturday (Sept. 9) at noon.
  • Charleston Southern will close campus at 9 p.m. on Thursday, Sept. 7.
  • Charleston School of Law will close at 1 p.m. Friday, Sept. 8. It is scheduled to reopen Thursday, Sept. 14, at 7:30 a.m.
  • Francis Marion University will close offices and end classes at 12:30 p.m. on Friday, Sept. 8. 

K-12 school closings:

  • Beaufort County.
  • Berkeley County. 
  • Charleston County.
  • Dorchester District 2.
  • Additional closings and information can be found at