INPUT logo


Since 1984, the South Carolina Educational Television Commission (SCETV) has served as the U.S. INPUT Secretariat.

What is INPUT?

INPUT 2019 – Bangkok, Thailand

South Carolina ETV manages submissions to INPUT from US producers. Submissions are now open for INPUT 2020 in Potsdam, Germany. U.S. producers interested in entering programs (TV, digital and online) to INPUT must submit via this form to U.S. INPUT Pre-selection coordinated by South Carolina ETV. A panel of public media professionals will convene in November to select 17 US programs for consideration by the INPUT international selection committee.

Submit Program

Deadline: Friday, November 22, 2019 at 5:00 PM.

Eligibility: All programs completed since November, 2018 and distributed by a US public media outlet are eligible to apply.

INPUT - the International Public Television Conference - is an annual weeklong public media showcase where the rules of broadcasting are challenged and redefined. This event is the only international conference that focuses specifically on the innovative programs produced by public as opposed to commercial broadcasters. INPUT is dedicated to the proposition that public broadcasting should be public service in the public interest; that access to the most honest, innovative, provocative, courageous and challenging broadcasting is a universal fundamental human right.
This unique event — held in a different country each year — encourages the development of public media by screening and debating the most outstanding programs and multi-platform media from around the world. It also organizes many other activities throughout the year in dozens of countries. In doing so, INPUT provides a unique professional development opportunity for producers, directors, writers and all those — including independent producers — who contribute to public broadcasting around the world.
For information about INPUT 2020 go to
Any questions call 803-737-3466 or email,

History of INPUT

In 1977, the Rockefeller Foundation brought together in Bellagio, Italy, a group of concerned public service broadcasters from ten European and North American countries. Not satisfied with the images carried across national borders by the popular entertainment programs, the group sought a new channel on international communication, one that would foster the exchange of programs and ideas. They sought a means to address their concerns: to vary the images we have of each other—through an exchange of our television programs—and to present to each other a more accurate representation of our respective cultures. The objective was a deeper understanding created through the celebration of our differences and a closer working relationship built upon our commonalities.

INPUT's purpose is to seek and open international channels of communication so that public service television professionals throughout the world can understand each other's work and develop relationships to improve their art, craft, and purpose. INPUT is a unique opportunity for working professionals to look beyond national borders and local horizons to find new perspectives, techniques, and ideas. It is not a market, a festival, or an awards competition. It is, rather, an immersion in ideas of professional excellence directed towards the ideals of understanding the impact of television programs on the people of all places.

The INPUT conference, held once a year alternately in Europe and North America, is now an established institution within public service broadcasting. The INPUT conferences since 1984 have opened the door for many American delegates with varying backgrounds and experiences to new production techniques, new points of view, new ideas for programming, and new perceptions of how other nations view America.

INPUT has no full-time paid staff. It is organized and conducted entirely through the voluntary efforts of the INPUT Secretary, its International Board of Directors and its many friends and supporters.

Historically the costs of INPUT have been borne primarily by the public broadcasting organizations of Europe, Canada, and—to some extent—the United States through subsidizing the travel costs for their producers and programmers to attend the Conference, absorbing the costs of subtitling the programs in English (the official language of INPUT), granting time and expenses to their executives who organize the conferences, assisting in program collection and selection, and hosting the various conferences to date.

Since 1984, the South Carolina Educational Television Commission (ETV) has served as the U.S. INPUT Secretariat.

Past INPUT Conferences

The annual INPUT Screening conferences have been held in the following locations:

  • INPUT 1977 - Bellagio, Italy
  • INPUT 1978 - Milan, Italy
  • INPUT 1979 - Milan, Italy
  • INPUT 1980 - Washington DC, USA
  • INPUT 1981 - Venice, Italy
  • INPUT 1982 - Toronto, Canada
  • INPUT 1983 - Liège - Belgium
  • INPUT 1984 - Charleston SC, USA
  • INPUT 1985 - Marseille, France
  • INPUT 1986 - Montreal, Canada
  • INPUT 1987 - Granada, Spain
  • INPUT 1988 - Philadelphia PA, USA
  • INPUT 1989 - Stockholm, Sweden
  • INPUT 1990 - Edmonton, Canada
  • INPUT 1991 - Dublin, Ireland
  • INPUT 1992 - Baltimore MD, USA
  • INPUT 1993 - Bristol, United Kingdom
  • INPUT 1994 - Montreal, Canada
  • INPUT 1995 - San Sebastian, Spain
  • INPUT 1996 - Guadalajara, Mexico
  • INPUT 1997 - Nantes, France
  • INPUT 1998 - Stuttgart, Germany
  • INPUT 1999 - Ft. Worth, USA
  • INPUT 2000 - Halifax, Canada
  • INPUT 2001 - Cape Town, South Africa
  • INPUT 2002 - Rotterdam, The Netherlands
  • INPUT 2003 - Aarhus, Denmark
  • INPUT 2004 - Barcelona, Spain
  • INPUT 2005 - San Francisco CA, USA
  • INPUT 2006 - Taipei, Taiwan
  • INPUT 2007 - Lugano, Switzerland
  • INPUT 2008 - Johannesburg, South Africa
  • INPUT 2009 - Warsaw, Poland
  • INPUT 2010 - Budapest, Hungary
  • INPUT 2011 - Seoul, South Korea
  • INPUT 2012 - Sydney, Australia
  • INPUT 2013 - San Salvador, El Salvador
  • INPUT 2014 - Helsinki, Finland
  • INPUT 2015 - Tokyo, Japan
  • INPUT 2016 - Calgary, Canada
  • INPUT 2017 – Thessaloniki, Greece
  • INPUT 2018 – Brooklyn, NY
  • INPUT 2019 – Bangkok, Thailand

Countries Represented

During these thirty or more years, delegates from many public television organizations as well as independent film and television professionals from all corners of the world have attended INPUT.

Countries represented in past years include the following:

  • Argentina
  • Armenia
  • Australia
  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • Benin
  • Bosnia/Herzegovina
  • Brazil
  • Bulgaria
  • Burkina Faso
  • Cameroon
  • Canada Central
  • African Republic
  • Chile
  • China
  • Colombia
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • Dominican Republic
  • Eastonia
  • Finland
  • France
  • Georgia
  • Germany
  • Ghana
  • Greece
  • Hungary
  • Iceland
  • India
  • Indonesia
  • Ireland
  • Japan
  • Kazakhstan
  • Kirghizia
  • Latvia
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Malaysia
  • Mexico
  • Moldavia
  • Mongolia
  • Nepal
  • Netherlands
  • Northern Ireland
  • Norway
  • Pakistan
  • Palestine
  • Panama
  • Poland
  • Russian Federation
  • Senegal
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • South Africa
  • South Korea
  • Spain
  • SriLanka
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland
  • Taiwan
  • Tanzania Togo
  • Trinidad/Tobago
  • Ukraine
  • United Kingdom
  • USA
  • Venezuela
  • Yugoslavia
  • Zimbabwe