Back to List

Summer of Space on PBS

June 3, 2019 - Posted in SCETV by Ty Moody

PBS, America’s home for documentary film, is telling the story of ’69 with a special summer slate commemorating the cultural milestones and technological triumphs of 50 years ago. In addition, PBS is dedicating the entire month of July to commemorate the wonder and awe of the universe with the “Summer of Space” multiplatform experience. 

Celebrating the golden anniversaries of pivotal moments and movements in U.S. history – gay liberation, the lunar landing and Woodstock – PBS will premiere new specials and limited series, including THE LAVENDER SCARE (Tuesday, June 18, 9:00 p.m. ET), the epic three-part “Chasing the Moon” on AMERICAN EXPERIENCE (Monday, July 8 – Wednesday, July 10, 9:00 p.m. ET), 8 DAYS: TO THE MOON AND BACK (Wednesday, July 17, 9:00 p.m. ET), “Woodstock: Three Days That Defined a Generation” on AMERICAN EXPERIENCE (Tuesday, August 6, 9:00 p.m. ET) and more, throughout the summer.

JUNE 2019: PREMIERES

AMERICAN MASTERS “Terrence McNally: Every Act of Life”
Friday, June 14, 9:00 p.m. ET

PBS PREVIEWS: COUNTRY MUSIC
Friday, June 14, 10:30 p.m. ET

POV “Roll Red Roll”
Monday, June 17, 10:00 p.m. ET

ENDEAVOUR, SEASON 6 ON MASTERPIECE
Sundays, June 16 - July 7, 9:00 p.m. ET

THE LAVENDER SCARE
Tuesday, June 18, 9:00 p.m. ET

RIVERS OF LIFE
Wednesdays, June 19 – July 3, 2019, 8:00 – 9:00 p.m. ET

WHEN WHALES WALKED: JOURNEYS IN DEEP TIME
Wednesday, June 19, 9:00 p.m. ET

TIANANMEN: THE PEOPLE VERSUS THE PARTY
Tuesday, June 25, 9:00 p.m. ET

SUMMER OF SPACE: PREMIERES

SECRETS OF THE DEAD “Galileo’s Moon”
Tuesday, July 2 at 8:00 p.m. ET

ANTIQUES ROADSHOW “Out of This World”
Premiere: Monday, July 8, 8:00 p.m. ET

CHASING THE MOON: AMERICAN EXPERIENCE
Monday, July 8 – Wednesday, July 10, 9:00 p.m. ET

NOVA “Back to the Moon”
Wednesday, July 10, 8:00 p.m. ET

8 DAYS: TO THE MOON AND BACK
Wednesday, July 17, 9:00 p.m. ET

ANCIENT SKIES
Wednesdays, July 24 – August 7, 8:00 p.m. ET

NOVA MINISERIES “The Planets”
Wednesday, July 24, 9:00 and 10:00 p.m. ET; Wednesdays, July 31 – August 14, 9:00 p.m. ET

JULY & AUGUST 2019: PREMIERES

A CAPITOL FOURTH (2019)
Thursday, July 4, 8:00 p.m. ET

GRANTCHESTER, SEASON 4 ON MASTERPIECE
Sundays, July 14 – August 11, 9:00 p.m. ET

WOODSTOCK: THREE DAYS THAT DEFINED A GENERATION: AMERICAN EXPERIENCE
Tuesday, August 6, 9:00 p.m. ET

FAMILY PICTURES USA
Monday, August 12, 9:00 p.m. ET and Tuesday, August 13, 8:00 – 10:00 p.m. ET

MAGICAL LAND OF OZ
Wednesday, August 28 – September 11 10:00 p.m. ET

BIG FAMILY: THE STORY OF BLUEGRASS MUSIC
Premiere: Friday, August 30, 9:00 p.m. ET

 

Categories: 

Tags: 

Facebook comments

Related Posts

Endeavor: Season 6 Premeires June 16, 201 9 The latest installment of Endeavour is set in 1969. Endeavour will also be facing new challenges, with Morse having started a new...

Premieres and streams June 17 Jet and the gang have a fun night planned with a sleepover in Jet’s backyard, mini-golf, and star-gazing—after all, it’s the 50th anniversary of...