Back to List

Innovation Challenge Award Recipients Honored at South Carolina State Fair

October 23, 2017 - Posted in Education by Bette Jamison
South Carolina Department of Education logo

Columbia, SC - IT-oLogy and the South Carolina Department of Education are pleased to announce the recipients of the first annual Innovation Challenge. The Innovation Challenge is a new statewide competition for students in grades 3-12 whose purpose is to create projects using technology to solve, or bring awareness to a problem in the community.

“The jobs and careers available in our state and nation require graduates that are proactive hands-on learners that can apply their knowledge to solve real world problems,” said State Superintendent Molly Spearman. “By participating in the inaugural Innovation Challenge these students have demonstrated they are already driving their own success. I look forward to seeing what the future holds for these bright learners.”

The recipients are:


1st – Andrew Simmons and Parker Tackett (Recycle Website) Spearman Elementary, Anderson 1, Teacher Beth Owings

2nd –Justin Monroe and Ashlyn Bell (Dash Sweeper) Spearman Elementary, Anderson 1, Teacher Beth Owings

3rd – Madeleine Strong and Hannah Crooks (Humane Society Drive) Merrywood Elementary, Greenwood 50

Honorable Mention (HM) – Saniya Gilbert and Carter Stephens (Recycling Program), Leaphart Elementary, Richland/Lexington 5, Columbia

HM – Jamison Cox and Jackson Thurman (Pollen Distributor) Spearman Elementary, Anderson 1, Teacher Beth Owings



1st – Shakaren Douglas and Treasure King (Earth Support App), Jackson STEM MS, Aiken

2nd –Peyton Quickery (USB Pencil Sharpener), Ten Oaks Middle, Horry

3rd – Cole Smith (FMS 6th Grade App) Forestbrook Middle, Horry

HM – Dorothy Chastain Weaver (Kidputer) Brockman Elementary, Richland One

HM - Samuel Bornfreund and Andrew Vaughan (3D Printed Rayless Hook), Ocean Bay Middle, Horry


High School

1st – Samuel Cathcart and Abhimanyu Sailesh (Portable Elements Synthesizer), Blythewood HS, Richland 2

2nd – Jeffrey Carroll and Cody McWhorter (Digital Hall Pass), Laurens District 55 High School

3rd – Kaylie Smith and William Ayers (MAPS), R2I2, Richland 2

HM – David de Jesus (Visual Baby Monitor), Carolina Forest HS, Horry

HM – Lauren Chen (GMO Foods), Irmo, SC

The overall TM Floyd Top Innovator award was presented to Samuel Cathcart and Abhimanyu Sailesh from Blythewood High School.

The top innovators were selected from each of three age divisions (elementary, middle and high school) and showcased their projects at the South Carolina State Fair on Saturday, October 21. 



Rachel Barnett, IT-oLogy, 803-354-5735

Ryan Brown, SC Department of Education -, 803-734-5080

Facebook comments

Related Posts

The holiday season is upon us and 2020 is on the horizon. From "Reconstruction" to "Chasing the Moon" to "Molly of Denali," the Education team is thankful for the experiences...