

Call for Nominations SOUTH CAROLINA



The Annual Literacy Leaders (ALL) Awards Nominations Committee is seeking nominations for the 2016 awards program.

The ALL awards are presented by the School of Library and Information Science (SLIS) at the University of South Carolina in the fall of each year to individuals and/or groups that have had a statewide impact on literacy in South Carolina. Their contributions can include the following kinds of activities:

- developing and implementing innovative and creative approaches to literacy education;
- establishing models of best practices in literacy education;
- providing service to underserved groups and communities;
- providing funding and support for these kinds of programs; or
- making other statewide contributions deemed appropriate by the Committee.

Recipients may be any individuals, agencies, organizations or corporations with a local presence in South Carolina, regardless of their primary place of residence or corporate headquarters.

Nominations should take the form of a one page letter summarizing the statewide impact of the nominee with respect to the award criteria. Nominations should be received no later than May 2, 2016.

Please email ALL Awards and Peggy Parish Prize nominations to Dr. Curtis R. Rogers, Chair of the ALL Nominations Committee at <u>crogers@statelibrary.sc.gov</u> and Kim Jeffcoat, Executive Director, SC Center for Children's Books and Literacy at kimj@sc.edu.



Nominations for The Peggy Parish Prize

Two Prizes of \$500 Each to be Awarded to a Public School Educator and Public Library Staff Member

A little boy wrote that to Peggy Parish after reading one of her books. It was her favorite fan letter. Peggy loved writing stories that children loved to read. She believed that when children read what they liked to read, then they would like to read for the rest of their lives.

The Peggy Parish Prize honors her legacy as the author of the beloved Amelia Bedelia series. Peggy was born and raised in South Carolina, graduated from the University of South Carolina and taught in elementary schools before devoting herself to writing books for children.

Peggy's experience taught her that there is a tiny window of time when a child is most receptive to reading. She believed that if good books and encouragement are given at the right time, any child could become a life-long reader. When books or inspiration are lacking or given too late, then reading becomes a life-long struggle.



This Prize honors two individuals who have made a personal impact that

increases child literacy in South Carolina. Two Prizes of \$500 each will be offered. One will be awarded to a public librarian. The second will be awarded to a public school educator, which would include anyone employed by a public school. Successful recipients will demonstrate their impact through activities such as:

- Implementing or expanding innovative programs or approaches to increase literacy in children
- Encouraging a child's love of reading through the involvement of a parent or caregiver
- Establishing or expanding programs for under-served community groups to increase child literacy
- Creating programs that successfully use Peggy Parish's notion of an "open window" timeframe to encourage reading in children

This Prize is being offered in Peggy Parish's memory, to honor those who demonstrate the imagination, creativity and energy to help the children of South Carolina become life-long readers.

Recent ALL Award Winners

2012 Recipients:

- Randy Akers, Executive Director of The Humanities Council^{SC}
- Rudy Mancke, professor, naturalist and host of SCETV's NatureScene
- The South Carolina Book Awards Program

2013 Recipients:

- Helen Fellers, Coordinator of SCCCBL and Reading Rooster
- Jane Thomas, Greenville Literacy Association
- Trident Literacy Association

2014 Recipients:

- Call Me Mister program
- Dr. Dianne Johnson
- Literacy Volunteers of the Lowcountry
- 1st Annual Peggy Parish Prize winners Ida Thompson and Leslie Tetreault

2015 Recipients:

- Joe Keaton
- StartSMART program of Florence
- Tutor Eau Claire of Columbia
- 2nd Annual Peggy Parish Prize winners Julie Bascom and Vicky Culbertson

We appreciate your help in recognizing these important people and organizations who contribute so much to our state. The 2016 award ceremony will be held on International Literacy Day, Thursday, September 8, 2016 from 5:00 p.m. to 7:00 p.m.