South Carolina ETV

ETV. Your Lifeline to South Carolina
Lifeline Home | Overview | Education | Transparency in Gov | Public Safety | Quality of Life | Citizens & Communities



Facebook Twitter Youtube Flickr
President's Corner

Dear Viewers and Listeners:

South Carolina can proudly claim two of the ten teachers who have won first-place prizes from PBS LearningMedia and the Henry Ford’s 2012 Teacher Innovator Awards.  The winning teachers are Lynn Dempsey from Lexington Elementary School and Lori Russell from Meadow Glen Elementary School, both of Lexington, S.C. I had the distinct honor of presenting their awards during the Lexington County School District One Board of Trustees’ meeting in May.

The winners were selected for their work in utilizing technology in innovative ways to inspire and educate young minds. Dempsey’s fourth grade class developed an election ballot using Google Docs, held a mock election, and analyzed the data afterward. “I use many services that PBS and ETV offer,” said Dempsey. “Digital learning provides students with ways to solve problems and to communicate their understanding. PBS and ETV provide me with the tools to give those opportunities to students.”

Russell incorporated digital media in a first-grade classroom, using Kindles, iPods, iPads, MP3 players, and laptops to read, listen to and illustrate stories. “ETV’s StreamlineSC allows me to enhance instruction with research-based media. I am thrilled to have access to a resource which provides digital media related to all content areas and standards that our 21st-century learners are working toward mastering,” said Russell.

ETV and ETV Radio have a proud history of supporting education in South Carolina, and we’re delighted to help to recognize the work of these two outstanding teachers. Their ingenuity and hard work in the classroom shines a bright light on emerging digital resources in our state.


Linda O’Bryon

ETV President & CEO

VIEW ARCHIVES: « First  <  23 24 25 26 27 >  Last »


Register for our newsletter to receive news, updates, schedules, and alerts by email.

Subscribe Now!

  • Home
  • |
  • ETV Stations
  • |
  • Network Status
  • |
  • Weather and Emergency Alerts
  • |
  • Jobs and Internships
  • |
  • Pressroom
  • |
  • Privacy Policy
  • |
  • About ETV
  • |
  • Contact Us

  • FCC TV Public Files:
  • WITV (Charleston)
  • |
  • WEBA-TV (Allendale)
  • |
  • WJWJ-TV (Beaufort)
  • |
  • WHMC-TV (Conway)
  • |
  • WRJA-TV (Sumter)
  • |
  • WNTV (Greenville)

  • WNSC-TV (Rock Hill)
  • |
  • WJPM-TV (Florence)
  • |
  • WRLK-TV (Columbia)
  • |
  • WNEH-TV (Greenwood)
  • |
  • WRET-TV (Spartanburg)

  • If you need assistance accessing our public file information, please contact Tara Thomas at 803-737-3500.

    NPR - National Public Radio    PBS - Public Broadcasting Service